I’m supposed to be grading 124 essays written by my students, but in one of my many bouts with Sunday afternoon work avoidance, I happened upon Senator Reid’s webpage.  There was a link that said:

“Reid meets with Deputy Secretary of Labor Seth Harris, and John Howard of NIOSH.”

I clicked on the link, and saw this photo and description.  

I understand that working for CDC’s Julie Gerberding took its toll on many CDC officials, but never realized such stress caused Dr. Howard to generate a full head of beautiful dark hair!   For those of us attending the APHA annual meeting, in particular the OHS Section events, we’ll have to get used to John Howard’s new look.

By the way, Senator Reid was meeting with the Seth Harris and the John Howard (and/or this imposter) to discuss management of the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program (EEOICP).   The Senator reported:

“Seth and John gave me their personal assurance that it’s a top priority to strengthen their agencies’ implementation of this compensation program (EEOICP).  It’s so important that we do right by our sick Cold War veterans. I look forward to continuing to work with them to make sure Nevadans are being served well.”

TPH readers know although EEOICP has provided billions in dollars in compensation to former Cold War workers, many individuals are dissatisfied with the program. 

===

Screenshot of the Senator Reid’s webpage.

 

